Ishaq Dar elected chairman of electoral reforms committee

Ishaq Dar elected chairman of electoral reforms committee

ISLAMABAD, Aug 6 (Online): Federal Finance Minister Ishaq Dar has been elected chairman of the Special Parliamentary Committee on Election Reforms.

Dar’s election as chairman comes as the 33-member bi-partisan committee held its first meeting in Islamabad on Wednesday. The purpose of the first meeting was to elect the chairman, after which its members would formulate the terms of reference for the smooth functioning of the committee.

The notification of his appointment has been issued by the National Assembly secretariat.

Dar is a key cabinet member of the Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) government and is considered very close to Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.Ishaq Dar elected chairman of electoral reforms committee

The bi-partisan committee, constituted on July 25, has been tasked to “evaluate the shortcomings of the previous electoral process and make recommendations to hold free, fair and transparent elections” in the future.

Meeting of the committee was attended by Raza Rabbani, Zahid Hamid, Naveed Qamar, Ishaq Dar, Mushahid Hussain Syed, Aftab Sherpao, Rafiq Rajwana, Shazia Marri, Shirin Mazari, Ijazul Haq, Shafqat Mehmood, Abdul Qadir Baloch, Anousha Rehman, Murtaza Javed Abbasi, Abdul Hakeem Baloch and Talha Mehmood.

Other members of the committee have already been chosen from both the upper and lower houses of the Parliament.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.